About » Honors/Awards


District-Level Awards:

Wellness by Design Gold Level Award Winner from Hennepin County for promoting a healthy school environment (2010, 2011)

Youth Determined to Succeed Impact Award (2011)

Family Partnership Counseling, Education, Advocacy Community Partnership Award (2010)

Midwest Dairy council and Minnesota Vikings Fuel Up to Play 60, nutrition and physical activity (2012)

Brooklyn Center Arts and IB World School:

School-Wide Awards:

Magnet School of America: Magnet School of Excellence Award (2009, 2010, 2011), Magnet School of Distinction Award (2012, 2013)
Magnet Schools of America has established the Magnet Schools of Merit Award to recognize the top magnet schools in the United States. The Magnet Schools of Merit Award recognizes magnet schools that show a commitment to high academic standards, curriculum innovation, successful desegregation/diversity efforts, specialized teaching staffs, and parent and community involvement. Two categories of awards have been established by MSA: The top category given to a group of select magnet schools is the Magnet School of Excellence Award and the second category of awards is the Magnet School of Distinction Award

Authorization by the International Baccalaureate Organization as a Middle Years Programme (Feb 2010 - Present) and the Diploma Programme (Feb 2012 - Present)

Authorized for Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID) (2006 - Present)

Humphrey School of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota, Local Government Innovation Award for Drop-Out Prevention (2011)

Students and staff filmed Minnesota Educator's Association "I Raise My Hand" commercial (2011)

Students participated in photo shoot for Wenger Corporation (2011)

Visit from Indu Shahani, Sheriff of Mumbai for our magnet programs (2010)

Instrumental Music Awards:

National Association of Music Merchants Foundation, Best Community for Music Education in the United States (2011, 2012)

Featured in National School Band and Orchestra Magazine (2011)

Tri-Metro Honors band (2009 - 2012)

Rotary Instrument Award (2004 - 2012)

Guest Artists and Partnership with University of Minnesota Jazz Musicians (2009 - Present)

Performed at the National Educational Association Conference (2008)

Performed at Hmong New Year at the Minneapolis Metrodome (2008)

Featured in numerous local and state newspaper and television stories (2006 – present)

Grammy Signature School Enterprise Award (2006)

Two-time National Championship University of Minnesota Women's Hockey Team Pep Band (2006)

Georgia Tech Pep Band for the NCAA Championship Volleyball (2005)

Foreign Language Awards:

State Spanish Competition (Festival Quijote 2011 - 1st, 3rd, 4th place, also 1st place 2009 and 2010)

Minnesota Council on the Teaching of Languages and Cultures STAR Awards for 2 teachers at BCHS (2006 – 2007)

Concurso Estatal State Spanish Oral Exam Awards for 2 students (2006)

Vocal Music Awards:

Tri-Metro Honors Choir (2009 - 2012)

Performed for Vocal Essence Community Luncheon (2012)

Vocal Essence Witness Program with guest artists Ginger Commodore and Gary Hines (2009 - Present)

Visual Arts Awards: 

Tri-Metro Arts Competition Awards (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012)

North Hennepin Community College High School Art Competition, First Place (2009 - 2012)

Featured work at the 4A Congressional District Art Exhibit (2011, 2012)

State Arts Board Anti-Graffiti Mural Project with Mentoring Peace (2011)

Human Rights Poster Competition, 2nd Place (2009)

Jimmy Longoroia, mural guest artist (2011, 2012)

Wing Young Huie, photography guest artist (2011)

Kevin Caufield, ceramic artist guest artist (2011)

Juxtaposition Arts, graffiti art partnership (2010)

BCHS student work displayed at Joseph Gazzuolo Fine Arts Gallery at North Hennepin Community College (2009)

Tri-Metro Visual Arts competition Juror’s Choice Award and student work was exhibited at the College of Visual Arts in St. Paul (2008)

Literary Arts: 

Poetry Out Loud Competition awards sponsored by Minnesota State Arts board (2007- 2012)

Antoine Duke, spoken word, guest artist (2012)

Dance Awards: 

National Artist Teacher Fellowship for Afro-Cuban folkloric dance (2012)

Larry Yazzy, Native Pride Dancers residency (2012)

April Sellers, guest artist in choreography (2012)

Marciano Silva Dos Santos, Latin dance guest artist (2011)

African Drumming dance guest artists (2010)

Tri-Metro Conference Championship (First place in both High Kick and Jazz, 2010)

Dance Team Conference Runner-up (2007)

Theatre Awards:

Toby Polnu, actor, guest artist (2012)

Julie and Gustavo Boada, mask maker and puppet actor, guest artists (2012)

Esther Ouray, actor, guest artist (2012)

Stacy Schultz, stage manager, guest artist (2012)

Duane Tougas, set designer, guest artist (2011)

Antoine Duke, actor, guest artist (2011)

Dante Collins, actor, guest artist (2011)

Technology Awards:

MTEA New Teacher of Excellence Award in New Media Arts (2009)

TIES Exceptional Teacher awards for technology integration in Language B (Spanish: 2005), Band (2006), Choir (2007), Humanities (2008, 2009, 2010), Math (2011), Art (2012)

State Arts Board Awards for Media Arts and Video Production (2011, 2012)

Athletic Awards: 

Wrestling Conference Champs (2007, 2010, 2011) (state conference participation in 2011, 2012)

Track Princeton Invitational & state sectionals (2012)

Homecoming Queen of Minnesota (2009)

7th and 8th Grade Metro Football League Champions (2008)

1st Place State Competition Cheerleading Squad (2006)

Clubs and Activities: 

DECA: DECA National Qualifiers (2009, 2011),1st place (2005 - 2012) community service projector for MN Special Olympics, DECA State qualifiers (2006, 2007, 2010, 2011), Camp Enterprise (2006 - 2007), BPA Rock-A-thon (2006)

Students in Action:  Jefferson Award (accepted at the national conference in Washington, D.C.) (2010, 2011)

Future Educators’ Club: 1st Place (2008- 2010), 2nd place (2005, 2007) metro competition awards


Minnesota Minority Education Partnership "All My Relations" Award (2011)

University of Minnesota, College of Education and Human Development Outstanding Achievement Award (2010)

Rotary International "Service Above Self" Award (2010)

Earle Brown IB World School:

Authorization by the International Baccalaureate Organization as a Primary Years Programme (2006 - Present)

Beacon's YMCA