Data / Testing

What are the MCA Tests?
The MCA-III are online assessments taken by Minnesota students, which give parents, educators, administrators, and state education officials an indication as to how students are performing in math, reading, and science. This allows us all an accurate assessment of how our students are performing and gives us the opportunity to take the steps necessary to improve student achievement.

Who takes the MCA tests?
The MCA-III math assessment is taken by students in grades 3 – 8, and 11. This assessment was administered for the first time in 2011 for grades 3 - 8, and in 2014 for grade 11.  The MCA-III reading assessment is taken by students in grades 3-8, and 10.  This assessment was administered for the first time in 2013.  The MCA Science test is taken by students in grades 5, 8, and high school Biology.
Test specifications for Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCAs) and other state tests:
The Assessment division provides test specifications for the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCAs) in mathematics, reading, and science as well as other state tests. Test specifications are specific rules and characteristics that guide the development of a test’s content and format. They indicate which strands, sub-strands, standards and benchmarks will be assessed on the test and in what proportions.  Test specifications are excellent tools for gaining an in-depth understanding of the content and format of the tests.  Test specifications for all state tests can be found on the Minnesota Department of Education's website.
Testing Academic Integrity:
On state standardized tests, our district encourages students to do their best work to show what they know and can do.  Students should not accept help finding answers to test questions, should not give answers to other students, and should not tell others what is on the test.  There may be consequences for dishonest behavior or for not following testing instructions.

Test Security Tip Line
Maintaining the integrity of tests and test items is of great importance to the Minnesota Department of Education.  Improper or unethical behavior by students or educators undermines the validity of test score interpretation. Please report suspected incidents of cheating or piracy of test items using the Minnesota Statewide Test Security Tip Line

ACCESS for ELLs is an English language proficiency assessment designed to measure 
English Learners’ social and academic language proficiency in English.  It was administered 
for the first time in Minnesota in spring 2012. Any student K-12 who is limited English proficient (LEP) qualifies to take the ACCESS test. Components include listening, speaking, reading, and writing.
 For more information about the ACCESS for ELLs test:
ACT Assessment:
The ACT Assessment is offered to all students in their 11th grade year.  The ACT is a national college admissions examination and consists of five parts:  English, Mathematics, Reading, Science, and Writing.  ACT results are accepted by all colleges and universities in the United States.  Students with a disability may qualify for accommodations for ACT.  Please contact the testing coordinator, Jodi Tholen, at 763-561-2120 ext. 6875  or email You may also visit the following website for more information:
For more information about our college readiness programming, please visit the guidance office pages.  
The Minnesota Report Card from the MN Department of Education

The Minnesota Report Card gives you easy access to understandable district and school data.

This tool is designed to provide parents, educators, schools, districts and citizens with easy access to district and school information, test results, demographic information and other critical data in a centralized location. Choose from several reports to learn more about the state of education in your local district, a specific school, or the state as a whole.


Students who do not meet or exceed the Minnesota Academic Standards, as measured by the MCA administered in high school, are to be informed that admission to a public school is free and available to any resident under 21 years of age until at least one of the following occurs:  1) the first September 1 after the student's 21st birthday; 2) the student's completion of academic and course credits for graduation requirements; 3) the student's withdrawal with no subsequent enrollment within 21 calendar days; or 4) the end of the school year.